Clubs & Activities

Clubs & Activities

Art Club

To teach our students to express themselves artistically and to gain more knowledge about the art world.

Moderator: Mrs. Lucinda Hanshaw, lhanshaw@stlucys.com

Book Club

Our mission as the Benedictine Book Brigade is to read the books that we love and to serve our community through book drives, fundraisers, and literacy programs. Through reading books and discussing them with each other, we are being educated and collaborative women. By serving God and our community through spreading literacy to those who are in need, we are being spiritual and integrated women. We, the Benedictine Book Brigade, will help light up your life with books!

Moderator: Mrs. Yvonne Huitron, yhuitron@stlucys.com

California Scholarship Federation (CSF)

The St. Lucy’s Chapter of the California Scholarship Federation is affiliated with all C.S.F. high school chapters throughout the state, and is under the control of the Board of Directors of the statewide federation. Membership in C.S.F. is based on the number of points achieved in each semester as outlined by the C.S.F. Board of Directors. “Scholarship for Service” is the C.S.F. motto. At the time of graduation, the Chapter Seal is embossed on the diploma of all students who have qualified for life membership. The names of graduating Sealbearers are noted on the commencement program.

Moderator: Ms. Charlene Littleton, chlittleton@stlucys.com

Captains’ Council

Captains’ Council is a board of representatives from 15 teams dedicated to educate the St. Lucy’s athletic community on the importance of leadership, teamwork, and good character. The mission is to further advance the leadership skills necessary to be a highly effective captain. Our goals are to promote all athletic contests to our school community and to encourage sportsmanship across our athletic teams, school body and spectators.

Moderator: Ms. Valerie Pentolino, vpentolino@stlucys.com

ComedySportz

The ComedySportz High School League® is the largest, most successful improv training program for high school students in the country. The High School League®empowers students to create their own theatre and nourishes their communication skills through improvisational theatre workshops and performances. It encourages their individuality and provides the forum to succeed or fail in a safe environment that combines showmanship and sportsmanship. The League provides an extracurricular activity that goes beyond stage work into everyday situations. And the students just think they're having fun!

Moderator: Ms. Carolina Gonzalez-Boix, cgonzalezboix@stlucys.com

Drama Club / International Thespians Society

The Drama Club is open to all students who have an interest in the performing arts, whether or not they are enrolled in the acting classes. Members learn to work as team players while preparing for successful productions, and gain an appreciation of the importance of stage and property management. Those who prefer to be audience members or technicians are equally welcome in the club.

Moderator: Ms. Betsey Boiler, eboiler@stlucys.com

Foreign Language Club

The mission of the foreign language club is to promote education of worldly cultures through the knowledge of their music, food, and traditions. In doing so, members will immerse themselves into universal understanding of society as a whole.

Moderator: Mr. Arnold Rocha, arocha@stlucys.com

Girls Who Code

Girls Who Code is a national nonprofit organization launched in the Spring of 2012 and works to provide young girls with the skills to pursue a college major, future job in computer science, or merely explore their interests. This club will allow students to learn the specifics of coding and actively participate in building real world software, mobile apps, and games. “Girls Who Code” offers monthly project based activities and allows students to learn new skills and apply them collaboratively with other peers. http://girlswhocode.com

Moderator: Ms. Marie Pitre, mpitre@stlucys.com

KIWIN’S

KIWIN’S, the 32nd district of Key Club International, is a student-led organization that enthusiastically promotes the development of character and leadership through community service within the Kiwanis family. Our goal is to be servant leaders by helping the communities around us through service projects and fundraisers for Live2Learn, Pediatric Trauma Program, Stop Hunger Now, and many other organizations.

Moderators: Mrs. Laura Morin, lmorin@stlucys.com and Mrs. Valerie Buckhannon, vbuckhannon@stlucys.com

National Honors Society (NHS)

The St. Lucy’s Chapter is affiliated with 11,000 other chapters of the National Honor Society and is under direct control of the National Association of Secondary School Principals, a department of the National Education Association. Membership in the school chapter is restricted to those students who maintain a cumulative 3.5 average in sophomore, junior and senior years; have positions of leadership; are involved in school and community service; and who are approved by the faculty for membership. Membership in the chapter is based upon scholarship, service, leadership and character.

Moderator: Ms. Charlene Littleton, chlittleton@stlucys.com

Recycling Club

The Recycling Club is a community of women who have an eye on stewardship as well as a passion for sustainability. With these principles in mind, members collaborate to execute projects that promote the wellbeing of our local environment.

Moderator: Ms. Annah Craig, acraig@stlucys.com

Science Club

Science club is designed to encourage girls to pursue careers or further their interests in STEM fields. Members will discuss and explore various activities and topics related to the sciences. Typical activities include guest speakers, experiments, and informative meetings. Through Science club, girls will be given multiple opportunities to showcase their passion and knowledge of science.

Moderator: Ms. Sarah Moeller, smoeller@stlucys.com

Science Olympiad Team

The Science Olympiad Team aims to foster a passion for science education in the way the subject is perceived and taught through participation in the Science Olympiad Regional Competition held annually at Occidental College. Members can choose from over twenty events in the science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields to study and compete in with a partner. Furthermore, the Team seeks to promote female pursuit of professional and technical careers in STEM.

Moderator: Mr. Travis Contreras, tcontreras@stlucys.com

Sisters in Song

To provide every student of the St. Lucy’s Priory High School Community the opportunity to share her musical talents with her Regent Sisters in order to enhance the musical and spiritual life on campus.

Moderator: Mr. James Plunkett, jplunkett@stlucys.com

Social Issues Club

This organization makes students aware of international human issues of personal rights, dignity, and freedom. The students are informed of issues that are globally impacting and affect us as individuals. Students are also involved in local human rights issues and support many organizations and causes.

Moderator: Mr. Tim Staples, tstaples@stlucys.com

Speech and Debate Club

The purpose of Speech and Debate is to offer opportunities for critical thinking, research skills, ethical argumentation, advocacy, analysis, persuasion, oral presentation, listening, organization, teamwork, group problem solving, citizenship, and leadership.

Moderator: Mrs. Erin Clark, eclark@stlucys.com

↑ Back to Top